MENU
Home Backtrack

Minimum Wage Increases as of January 1, 2017

Published:  December 30, 2016

On January 1, 2017, the minimum wage in Massachusetts will increase to $11.00 per hour for hourly workers, and $3.75 per hour for tipped employees.  This is the final increase in the minimum wage contained in the 2014 legislation signed by former Governor Patrick.  As the minimum wage increases to $11.00 per hour, employee advocates have already begun lobbying for a further increase in the minimum wage to $15.00 per hour.  Massachusetts employers will want to monitor the situation in case legislation to further increase the minimum wage is introduced.

In addition to Massachusetts, several other New England states are increasing their minimum wage in 2017.  On January 1, 2017, Connecticut will increase its minimum wage to $10.10 per hour, and Vermont will increase its minimum wage to $10.00 per hour.  Meanwhile, Rhode Island’s minimum wage for tipped employees will increase to $3.89 per hour, but will remain the same for hourly workers at $9.60 per hour.  Shortly thereafter, on January 7, 2017, Maine’s minimum wage will increase to $9.00 per hour.  The only New England state that will not be increasing its minimum wage is New Hampshire, where the minimum wage will remain $7.25 per hour.  The increase of the hourly minimum wage in four of the New England states reflects a nationwide trend, as nineteen states will have an increased minimum wage in 2017.

If you have any questions regarding the minimum wage, or any other wage and hour law issues, please contact the attorneys at Royal, P.C.

Subscribe
Share
Archive